top of page
Girls Basketball Horizontal.jpg

The Booster Effect

Boosters Bash

November 5, 2022


Athletic Award Recipients

Each year the Weston Athletic Department selects outstanding male and female athletes for special athletic awards that celebrate that athlete's excellence both on and off the field.  Each award is carefully considered with input gathered from the athletic director, coaches and teachers.  The awards are presented to these outstanding athletes at the annual Wildcat Pride Night held each May.

2018 Athletic/Academic Awards

Theodore Chandler Memorial Award:  Karenna Groff & Michael Sacco

The Theodore Chandler Memorial Award is considered one of our most prestigious awards and is presented annually to the senior boy and girl who best exemplify the three qualities of athletic accomplishment, scholarship, and school spirit. This award is voted on by our students, teachers and coaches and the athletes who win this award have exhibited tremendous athletic fortitude, excelled in the classroom and have been leaders for teams. Each winner’s name is affixed on the Chandler Plaques located on the wall by the HS gym.

Peter J. Foley I.C.E. Award:  Saajan May & Thomas Yu

The Peter J. Foley I.C.E. Award was instituted 27 years ago in honor of former Weston High School Athletic Director Pete Foley. This award embodies all that Pete stands for and what he wanted for his student-athletes while here in Weston. I.C.E. stand for Involvement, Commitment and Excellence. The recipients of this award have exemplified the ideals of what Pete envisioned this award to stand for.

Father Graf Award:  Danielle Pasquale & Andrew Black

The awards is given annually in memory of Fr. Graf, who was a parish priest at St., Julia’s Church in Weston in honor of his tremendous spirit. Father Graf took great interest in the youth of Weston, always cheering on Weston sports teams at all levels. His presence inspired the spirit of all Weston teams and the spectators attending contest. This award represents four years of extraordinary school spirit.

John S. Proctor Award:  Kathryn Augustine & Nick Cummings

John Proctor was a teacher, coach, athletic director and above all a friend to Weston students for 34 years. When John Proctor arrived in Weston in 1934, there were 3 sports offered at the high school; today we offer 28 at the Weston High and 12 at the Middle School. He was instrumental in building this well-rounded athletic program.  The John S. Proctor Award is given in his memory for athletic achievement, leadership and sportsmanship.

United States Army Scholar Athlete Award:  Ashley Wrean, Max Zawel & Noah Hooper

The United States Army Scholar Athlete Awards are given each year to both a male and female senior who excel on the field while keeping high academic standards and exhibit sportsmanship at the forefront during the course of their high school careers. These recipients must be true leaders.

United States Marine Corps Athletic Award:  Courtney Burrow, Alex Chiocca & Will Paquin
Each year the US Marines award two “medals” to both a male and female athlete for their outstanding academic and athletic accomplishment over the course of their high school career. This prestigious award embodies all the ideals of a student-athlete.

Sport-Specific Awards
Hobey Baker High School Character Award:  Thomas Burke

The Hobey Baker High School Character Award was established in 2003 to honor high school hockey players who exemplify the Hobey Baker ideal that “Character Builds Excellence.” Candidates for this award are selected by their coaches, based on the following criteria:  integrity and positive attitude, coachability, outstanding sportsmanship and community spirit. 

Robert M. Chruz DCL Sportsmanship Award:  Barbara Bemis & Gus Ramsey

Robert Chruz was a longtime Athletic Director at Newton South High School and is someone who has always embraced the ideals of sportsmanship. Each year the Dual County League awards a male and female senior student-athlete from each school with this award. These individuals must be student-athletes who possess great sportsmanship on all levels.

Peter Condcakes Memorial Award:  Sofie Gilbert & Noah Cate

Peter Condakes was an accomplished basketball player at Weston High School before taking his basketball talent to Harvard University. While at Weston he led his teams to two consecutive sectional championships and set a Weston High School varsity scoring record. Peter had passion for both basketball and academics and his determination on the court and in the classroom was impressive.

Tucky Gee Memorial Award:  Mary Harding & Heney Osborn

The Tucky Gee Memorial Award is given annually to a soccer player who has demonstrated tremendous fortitude, determination and sportsmanship, all qualities "Tucky" Gee, a former Weston High School soccer standout, possessed. These student-athletes must be committed to always putting the team first ahead of personal accolades.

Nancy Healey Unsung Hero Award:  Elizabeth McManus

The Nancy Healey Unsung Hero Award is given to a senior field hockey player who has committed herself to the program. Nancy Healey was a long-time freshman coach at Weston High School whose commitment and knowledge of the game of field hockey went beyond most freshman coaches. Nancy’s impact on the sport may have went unnoticed by some, but never by those who knew her or had her as a coach. This award is presented to a senior field hockey player who has exemplified these same qualities.

Joseph Naughton Award:  Vivian Lehman & Matt Garfinkel
The Joseph Naughton Memorial Award is given annually to a boy and girl track standout. This award recognizes both determination and dedication to the sport of track and field. Joe Naughton was an incredible athlete and former Chandler Award winner. He held the state and New England shot put record for 30 years and is a member of the Massachusetts Track and Field Hall of Fame.


Andrew Pastor Memorial AwardLeyla Hotamisligil & Isaac Gorelik

Andy Pastor was an accomplished tennis player at Weston High School. Andy always displayed sportsmanship to his opponents and leadership to his fellow teammates. He was dedicated to always improving as a player and worked hard to accomplish his tennis goals. The Andrew Pastor Memorial Award is given to one senior boy and one senior girl tennis player who display the same passion for tennis as Andrew did.

Wildcat Pride Award
The Wildcat Pride Award was initiated in 2011 and is given to any student-athlete who over the four years here at Weston High School has accumulated a Varsity Letter in each season from Freshman year through Senior year. Twelve in total; a tremendous accomplishment.

Stephen Alphas, Melissa Barbosa, Neha Joshi, Max Marchiony, John McMann, Ana Nixdorff, Timothy Pesek, Nicholas Proll, Cameron Schluter, Jack Spector

MIAA Sportsmanship Awards
Each year the MIAA provides schools with the opportunity to recognize student-athletes who have exemplified outstanding sportsmanship.

Jack Ballenger, John Cort, Andrew Daphnis, Mike DeVito, Delaney Geffen, Alina Hachigian, Garret Lualdi, Pat Noonan, Maddie Perko, Mila Showtka, Shama Simmons, Niko Steedle, Tom Riedel

Previous Award Recipients






bottom of page